No Tabs

When new to learning how to format eBooks properly, my advice is to take it one day at a time else you will go insane. Myself, I am learning this. I never would have imaged how much work is involved. Can’t I just write it, upload it, and BOOM it’s an eBook?

The answer is no.

One of the things that’s tricky when formatting eBooks is saying no to tabs. I love the tab button. I use it every day, all the time. Now I learn that I have to get rid of all my tabs in order to format my eBook.

WHAT?

Luckily for me, Vienna isn’t overly lengthy (but it’s still long enough). So how to get rid of all those tabs without it taking forever?

My new best friend: I press the Ctrl key and H key together.

blog post

In the ‘Find What’ type ^t (for tabs) and leave the ‘Replace With’ blank. I click on ‘Replace All’ with my mouse, and BOOM no more tabs. (Although, do a quick check over your manuscript to make sure all the tabs got the boot)

Next I am going to select the entire text (or what I want indented).

blog post 1

‘Page Layout’
‘Paragraph’
‘Special’
‘First Line’ 1.27cm (However, I indented 1.25cm for Vienna)

blog 1.5

And behold, it’s like your tabs never left! (If this way doesn’t work for you, don’t worry, there’s more than one way to get rid of tabs).

Leave a Reply

